Final Prototype

For the final project I really wanted to do something that was inspired by my sculpting data project. I really liked the idea of taking some sort of data/waves and transposing it on top of something else. For  my sculpting data I took a sound way of my mom saying “I love you” and put it on top of a heart. I realized that a sound wave of something that short was not super intricate so I started thinking of other ideas. I think I am going to use an EKG graph and put it on top of a heart. As well I am going to do three different types of breathing pattern waves and put it on top of  lips.

For the prototype I wanted to see what my original idea would look like so I printed it along with the EKG graph. I was mostly looking for how PLA would turn out on a standard setting and how good the graphs looked when in the physical form. Since it was only on the standard setting I am hopeful for how the material and forms will turn out.

I was also testing for thickness. On the heart form it was super thin and it turns out that I do not like it as much. I am going to try and make it thicker without taking away from the wave that goes on top of it.

Leave a comment