Makerspace Typography

For this assignment I made a makerspace sign. In another class I am building a cart for a makerspace, and one of the items that my client wants is for there to be a few signs that says makerspace on it. I thought this would be a perfect way to make a sign for the cart because how it is done is the same type of concept of what a makerspace is. Since the main audience is children I didn’t think that a cursive font would work because they are sometimes harder to read. Instead I decided to use a mix between cursive and block letters. I also made another sign that was only made out of block letters with it in mind that when it was cut out I would use the part that was cut not the piece that I was cutting from for the sign. You will see both in the photos below.

I used two different techniques to make both of these. For the strict block letter one I strictly used rhino to build it. I used the text tool then I shifted them all so that they would be connected. Then used the splitting tool to make them all one piece. For the other one I used Illustrator. I used the pathfinder tool to make them all one piece.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment